Wk2 – Art Experience – Landscape with a Corpse

Location: Corona Del Mar, CA.

Setting: Cloudy, early morning at the beach.

For some reason I knew right off the back that I wanted my death to be at the beach, because it’s a place I always knew as being calming and serene. With that said, I started to imagine the different situations that could happen at the beach that would ultimately lead to my demise and would ironically be opposite of what a peaceful beach represents. I’ve thought of a scene where my body would be washed up on the beach with torn  clothing, cuts, and blood as if attacked by some kind of creature of the sea. I also thought of a bit less gruesome scene where I simply die from a sudden slit of the throat by some psychotic passerby, while I innocently read a book on the pier’s bench. However, neither of those scenarios became reality, for new inspiration struck when I arrived to the actual location.

Corona Del Mar has a location off to the side where a very rocky landscape can be found near the shore; thus, the moment I seen it in person I decided I would literally fall to my demise. It was a bit of a hassle to get out to the rocks and they definitely weren’t the most comfortable things to lay on, but it was a sacrafice I was willing to take. Ultimately, with the help of one of my close friends, Alfredo Sandoval, my death was able to be captured.

Processed with VSCO with 10 preset

Processed with VSCO with 10 preset

Photographer: Alfredo Sandoval

Leave a Reply

